The Most Common Mental Illness In The Country

Posted on

Anxiety

noun, plural anx-i-e-ties

1. distress or uneasiness of mind caused by fear or danger or misfortune

2. earnest but tense desire; eagerness

Did you know that roughly 40 million U.S adults suffer from anxiety? Making it the most common mental illness in the country. I suffered with anxiety attacks last year: experiencing stress, tension, and panic attacks. Transitioning into a new situation in my past caused a lot of distrust, uneasiness, and fear that it wasn’t going to work out in my best interest. Once I realized I had a problem I expressed it to my friends. That’s when I was introduced to yoga.

Practicing yoga makes a huge difference in my life. It helps control my fast beating heart rate and breathing when I get nervous. I’m able to relax my mind and talk myself through the worry now.  Bikram Yoga is my favorite practice. It includes all the components of fitness: muscular strength, muscular endurance, flexibility and weight loss. 20131209-215949.jpg

Do you suffer with anxiety? If so how to you overcome the attacks? Use hashtag #Wednesdaywellness and let us know.

2 thoughts on “The Most Common Mental Illness In The Country

    […] me to breath deeply when my heart rate is racing uncontrollably. I over came my struggles with anxiety.  Using this exercise brings stillness to my mind and calms a stressful situation for me. Focusing […]

    Home hatkha yoga said:
    December 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    Love the blog, it is positive, and impressive. Lots of people want to look a particular way however don’t want to place in the work to attain what they might consider their ideal self.

Leave a Reply

