How Not To Hit Or Yell During A Hostile Situation

Posted on

Ever hear the expression “Patience is a virtue”? This method can be challenging when you’re in a heated situation. The phrase tells us to gather our thoughts and pause before reacting. Frustration, desperation, evil thoughts, or dealing with an antagonizing individual requires deeper thoughts than the surface. During an agitated moment we overcome these obstacles by not letting the problem get the best of our character.  People will push our buttons, scream in our face, belittle our intelligence with insults, or put their hands on us. If we engage in this behavior we’re allowing the situation to get the best of us. Ultimately it puts us in danger.

Once I started practicing Yoga I’ve learned how to focus on my breathing. Yoga taught me to breath deeply when my heart rate is racing uncontrollably. I over came my struggles with anxiety.  Using this exercise brings stillness to my mind and calms a stressful situation for me. Focusing only on my breathing and not frustration really helps with walking away when I’m angry, listening to others without rebuttal, and taking control of the situation at hand. Yes, we all want to set people straight and give them a piece of our minds, but what does fighting accomplish?

Next time you’re dealing with negative gossip among co-workers, road rage, a disagreement with your life partner, or any difficult problem. Take a moment to breathe through it. Try counting to three when you inhale and exhale. Doing so will give you clarity and assist in making the right decision.

How do you overcome a hostile situation?

Wednesday Wellness

Leave a Reply

