Put Down The Phone And Get Your Boogie On

Posted on

Ever feel too tired to take part in work related social gatherings? Well that was me today. Invited to hang out with my co-workers after work for some fun and networking. Not just a drink at a local bar, but a line dancing country theme shindig. Thinking about those thousand other things I need to do when I get home. I tried to weasel my way out of going. My supervisor suggested we play rock, paper, scissor. If he wins I go and if I win I get to go home. I lost!

photo 4

Having to overcome not being able to go home, I made the best out of my evening. We meet up at a really cool grilled cheese sandwich joint. Dope decor with portraits of celebrities mounted on the wall resembling them eating cheese. Some of my co-workers came ready for line dancing and dressed the part. While we munched on cheesy sandwiches we were able to catch up on each others day. I even learned a helpful tip from someone I’ve never talked to before because we’re in two different parts of the office.

photo 3 (1)  photo 2 (3)

Do you know how to line dance, because I don’t. Opting out of the lesson, because I was just trying to get one drink and go, I was able to see many people sitting and looking only at their cell phones. Not socializing with anyone, a straight face, and a drink in hand. I find it weird now that humans have such a hard time putting their cell phones away and enjoying what’s going on around them. As if its not attached to our hands what would we possibly do? Some of us wanted to watch and the others were super excited to get wasted and dance. The venue had a live band playing, inviting you to join in on the dance floor to get your boogie on. This is why I think instead of having a coat check, owners should have a no cell phone policy. Maybe this will force people to start having fun again and forget about what others are doing somewhere else. Before Facebook or Twitter, what were you doing when you went out?

photo 1 (3)

Leave a Reply

